The Institute Call for Proposals Studies Library Student Programs Newsroom Gallery


NIAC Senior Science Advisor


Dr. Turner is an internationally recognized expert in radiation risk management for astronauts, particularly in response to solar storms. For the past eight years he served as Principal Investigator on NASA research grants investigating risk management strategies for solar particle events during human missions to the Moon or Mars. He is a Participating Scientist on the Mars Odyssey program, where he is working with data from the MARIE radiation monitoring experiment. He has frequently been an invited participant at NASA workshops looking at Space Radiation/Biology Missions, Life Science mission requirements for Mars 2001 and 2003, and Solar Particle Event impact on design of human missions. He served on a National Research Council Committee looking at precursor measurements necessary to support human operations on the surface of Mars (results published in May 2002). He was an invited witness to the Presidential Moon Mars and Beyond Commission in 2004. He supported a 1999 National Academy of Sciences study of the impact of Solar Particle Events on the construction of the International Space Station.

Dr. Turner has over twenty years experience in space systems analysis, from requirements definition to system architecture evaluation. He has developed expertise in orbital mechanics, sensor design, and spacecraft design.

Dr. Turner's Ph.D. is a multi-disciplinary degree covering Nuclear/ Particle/ Astrophysics.

  • B.S. With High Honors, University of Florida, 1977
  • M.S. Physics, University of Florida, 1978
  • Ph.D. Physics, Ohio State University, 1984

Dr. Turner has over two dozen professional publications.


International Academy of Astronautics, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, (Member of Life Sciences and Systems Technical Committee, Space Colonization Technical Committee), American Geophysical Union, Member of Solar, Heliospheric, and Interplanetary Environments working group, 2004 NASA Group Achievement Award, ANSER 2001 annual Boyd Award for professional activities, 2001 and 2002 annual Platt Award for Professional Publication, Phi Beta Kappa, National Merit Scholar, Ohio State University Presidential Fellowship.