The Institute Call for Proposals Studies Library Student Programs Newsroom Gallery

2005-2006 Student Winners

The NASA Institute for Advanced Concepts (NIAC) seeks to identify creative and innovative undergraduate students who have shown exceptional creativity and promise for future success in building visions of the future. The NIAC Student Fellows Prize (NSFP), sponsored by Universities Space Research Association and managed by NIAC, was initiated in 2005. The winners of the NIAC Student Fellows Prize for Academic year 2005-2006 are as follows:

Andrew Bingham Andrew Bingham Clarkson University "Interstellar Exploration by Repeated External Acceleration"
Nicholas Boechler Nicholas Boechler Georgia Institute of Technology "Direct Conversion for Solar Space Power"
Amy Covert Aimee Covert University of Michigan "Advanced Concept for Detection of Weather Hazards on Mars: Non-Thermal Microwave Emissions by Colliding Dust/Sand Particles"
Joseph Fronczek Joseph Fronczek New Mexico State University "Bio-Inspired Sensor Swarms to Detect Leaks in Pressurized Systems"
Brian Sikkema Brian Sikkema Michigan Technological University "Wind Driven Power Generation on Titan"